rrrabuyvsvsveytfazersurdwarubawvev0% Interest for 24 Months! Learn more »
(800) 222-4700
  • Español: (800) 222-4701
Cart
June 2017 Giveaway

Sweetwater Forums [Archived]

After 15 years of great discussions, the Sweetwater Forums are now closed and preserved as a "read-only" resource. For discussions about current gear, check us out on Facebook, YouTube, inSync, and our Knowledge Base.

The Cuban Bass Project

hushnel

This may be inappropriate but I’m just busting at the seams on this one. I’ve included the address of my web site concerning this project that I have been working on since late January. This is my first attempt at building a bass so it just might be beginners luck. The sound of this Cuban Mahogany is just fantastic with a growl that I’ve never heard in another bass. Feel free to criticize, the thing sounds so much better than it looks. Page 5 and 6 show the finished bass.
The Cuban Bass Project
May 9, 2002 @10:51am
hushnel

Well, I felt that I should build a bass that I was familiar with. One of the reasons is; that I have one to take the measurements off of. The P Bass has been my main bass since 1981 and a dream before that to about '63.
I've spent a good part of my life learning how to use my hands and have made guns, knives, cabinets, a boat, etched glass, worked leather, carved leather, worked in ceramics, built ships in bottles, cut out coins, made baskets and making the tools needed for those projects. Generally working with as many types of material as I can.