We Love Gear Sale
Sweetwater Forums

After 15 years of great discussions, the Sweetwater Forums are now closed and preserved as a "read-only" resource. For discussions about current gear, check us out on Facebook, YouTube, inSync, and our Knowledge Base.

Home Recording Setup

Suharsh

I am looking up to setup a Home Recording system. My primary focus is vocals. I am a complete newbie who so far was using karaoke systems but wants to change the hobby to profesion. I have about $1500 - $2000 to spend on it. As I understand I need the following. Please correct me if any of these are redundant or if I need more than what is listed.
1. Books/Videos: $100 Please recommend some good ones on Digtial Home Recording and web repository ...
2. Digital (maybe multi track recorder ): upto $ 1000A friend of mine owns Zoom MRS-1044. I would rather look for a hard drive based rather than smart media card. What are comparable recorders basically best bang for the buck ...
3. Vocalizer: $350 DigiTech Vocalist VR ? Recommendations
4. Microphone: I already have Shure SM58 So I was thinking of buying the Antares AMM-1 microphone modeler.
5. In the above set up do I need a mic-preamp?
Thanks in advance.
April 22, 2002 @08:27pm
jamie garner

the zoom, the fostex vf80 ($600, 8 real tracks, 126 virtual, very decent fx, 8 mic pres), the boss br-1180 ($750, the same minus mic pres), ect- would all be fine for what you have in mind. however, if you want to use pre-recorded backing tracks... the tascam pocketstudio 5 ($500, usb i/o, four recordable tracks, + 6 midi, internal sound module included) might be just the ticket! midi files are all over the web- just about any song you can think of. if 6 midi tracks aren't enough, you can use your pc to play midi files using a soundscard and record to a pair of tracks, leaving two for vocals.